The USGenWeb Project

 Rio Grande County




Rio Grande County, Colorado is located in south central Colorado, and is one of several counties in the San Luis Valley.
It was created in 1874 from Costilla and Conejos counties the county seat is Del Norte.
On March 27,1893 - Mineral County was created from Hinsdale, Rio Grande, and Saguache.
Below is a map of the San Luis Valley area in 1887.

Towns or designated places in the county are Alpine, Ansel, Baxterville, Del Norte, Dunul, Evansville, Gerrard, Hanna,
 Homelake, Maxeyville, Monte Vista, Sevenmile Plaza South Fork, Sugar Junction, Torres, Vastine, Zinzer

 Jasper was a town in the late 1800s and early 1900s, but no longer exists.

Present day Colorado Counties Map.


The counties around Rio Grande are:
To the north Saguache, to the east Alamosa, to the south Conejos, to the west is Mineral and to the southwest over the continental divide is Archuletta.

Rio Grande is one of the six counties in the San Luis Valley, the other counties are
Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, and Saguache.
The San Luis Valley is surrounded by the Sangre De Cristo mountains on the east, and the San Juan Mountains on the west.
The San Juan's are part of the Continental Divide.

The other Colorado County CoGen Websites can be reached here:

Colorado County Table of Contents
Colorado Places by County




2009 - Present