USGenWeb Internet Site
COGenWeb Internet Site

Douglas County, Colorado
GenWeb Project

Douglas County, Colorado was created in 1861. It is one of the original 17 counties.
The County seat is Castle Rock

A Little History

Douglas County was first organized in 1861 by the Territorial Assembly for Colorado. Douglas County was named for Stephen A. Douglas. Originally, it extended to the Kansas state line. It is one of the original 17 counties. In 1870 a very small part of the Cheyenne & Arapahoe Reservation was added to Douglas County. In 1874 the eastern part was split off to form part of Elbert County, and in 1889 Lincoln & Kit Carson Counties were added by taking the eastern part of Elbert County.

Franktown was the first town established in Douglas County. Franktown was founded by Frank Gardner in 1860, and it served as a temporary county seat. The first county officials were: John L. Boggs, Sylvester Richardson, and Joseph Hipley, Commissioners; Charles Perkinson Sheriff; Frank Gardner Clerk and Recorder; and Noel Webber, Treasurer.

From 1861 to 1867, there was very little increase in Douglas County's population because of the Civil War and the Indian Wars, which were fought on the plains of Kansas and Colorado. In this period, though, several new towns were established in Douglas County:

As recently as 1970, Douglas County's population was quite small. Today, however, with rapid expansion from Arapahoe County and other southern suburbs of Denver, Douglas County is one of the fastest-growing counties in the country.




Census Records








Census Records



Useful Links

Links to Surounding Counties:

To the north: Arapahoe County
To the east: Elbert County
To the west: Jefferson County
To the south : El Paso County
To the southwest: Teller County

Douglas County Mailing List

Mail Mode:
Subscribe to CODOUGLAS-L
Unsubscribe to CODOUGLAS-L

Digest Mode:
Subscribe to CODOUGLAS-D
Unsubscribe to CODOUGLAS-D

Mailing List Tips

If you have any suggestions, problems or questions please e-mail the  State Coordinator

If you would be interested in becoming a County Coordinator for the COGenWeb Project:
Please contact the State Coordinator: Gail Meyer Kilgore

Douglas County Coordinator: Charlie Isaacs

Copyright 2015 Douglas County COGenWeb Project

This page last updated on October 11, 2015